Pink, Pizza

Okay.  If you haven’t read the previous post, it will probably make more sense to go back and do that now. 

download_nbcam_pink_ribbonEveryone knows (I hope, I hope!) that October is  National Breast Cancer Awareness Month.   I think that if you live long enough, this disease will touch your life, in some way or another.  Breast Cancer is one of the more treatable forms of cancer, so ladies… check the girls regularly.

I had my first smasho’gram this summer, and I have to say that it’s not the big, hairy deal it gets made out to be.  I do think the technician makes a difference, but I don’t know how to work around THAT obstacle.

Most of you know I am a Pampered Chef consultant.   I’m rather restricted on how I can advertise, so if you’re interested in any of the pink specials this month, leave a comment and I’ll tell you how you can see/buy them.  I am proud to be associated with a company that supports two great causes – the American Cancer Society through their Help Whip Cancer campaign and Round Up from the Heart which supports Feeding America.

So, there will be a few little pink “door prizes” from my stock for anyone who entered the contest…

Now, for the pizza part.  Because of Pampered Chef, I met Louise.  She runs the Months of Edible Creations blog.   Because of her blog, I’ve learned that October is National Pizza Month.  Today is National Seafood Bisque Day, and if you want to check out the other foods you can celebrate this week, you’ll have to toddle on over to Louise’s blog yourself.

2364

I’ve donated a pizza party set to the prize pool.   There are two ways to win this particular prize.  If you’ve had a pizza party, you’re automatically entered.  If you have a pizza party this week, that counts too.  You may also submit your favorite homemade pizza recipe to me via a comment to this post.  You’ll get ONE bonus entry for a homemade pizza sauce recipe and/or pizza dough.

Now… don’t expect me to ship prizes on the 26th.   I’ll draw names via the random number generator when I can on the 26th, and prizes will ship as soon after that as I can get my act together.

14 comments on “Pink, Pizza

  1. AlisonH says:

    Darn. It’s nine o’clock in the morning here and now I want pizza!

  2. gaylen says:

    When I get home tonight – you’re getting my recipe for carmelized onion pizza – I might even make one to show you how it’s done!

    Another favorite in our house – fruit pizza. Rather than pizza dough start with refrigerated sugar cookie dough – roll it out like pizza, use Strawberry glaze for ‘sauce’ then top with your favorite fruits – we enjoy sliced apples, grapes, kiwi & stawberries. Yummy! g

  3. nichole says:

    How fun!
    Will you please email me the info on the pink products available this month? Thanks!

  4. melly~ says:

    i’m -so- excited!
    the prize parade is adding to the excitement for sure!!

  5. Tobi says:

    This is so wonderful of you. I sure wish I could have a pizza party this week!

  6. Sue says:

    I’m going to Gaylen’s for dinner. The fruit pizza sounds great to me. I have a picture of Rob eating pizza for my blog tomorrow. Ever since I told him it was Pizza Month, he’s been eating pizzas. This must be the fourth one this month.

    Good reminder. My best friend Sue is a survivor.

  7. Marjie says:

    Holy cow. I made seafood bisque for dinner on Saturday night. What a coincidence.

    Pizza dough recipe:
    http://moderndayozzieandharriet.blogspot.com/2008/01/pizza.html
    And another:
    http://moderndayozzieandharriet.blogspot.com/2008/04/diy-pizza.html
    And a third:
    http://moderndayozzieandharriet.blogspot.com/2008/04/diy-pizza.html

    I know, more information than you wanted.

    And you can always email me great bargains; I might even be tempted sometimes. Happy Monday!

  8. Carol says:

    Great and informative post. It seems like every day it’s a pizza party at our house. I love the stuff!

  9. Katie says:

    i’m with you – the smashogram isn’t nearly as bad as i had expected. since my mom was recently diagnosed with breast cancer, with an excellent prognosis given early detection, i have to agree that it is well worth the effort to get proper monitoring.

    pizza? okay – i think that i will have to do a blog post about pizza so that i can properly footnote my fave pizza recipe. i’ll let you know when it is up.

  10. Katie says:

    okay – pizza post up… sometimes QUANTITY is most important, but the quality is good with that particular recipe, too. : )

  11. Robin in VA says:

    My girls are getting smashed next month…made the appointment 2 weeks ago!

    Hmmmm, I love pizza too and the homemade variety is the best!

  12. Robin in VA says:

    Oh…I forgot, I buy my pizza dough at one of my favorite pizza parlor here in town and make a BBQ Chicken pizza with BBQ sauce, red onions & chicken (usually leftover from the night before)

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    My girls are just happy to be here. After watching my mom have a double mastectomy and reconstruction…well, lets just say that I keep a close eye on them. 😉

    Since we both know I don’t cook, I won’t pretend to anything else and post any recipes. snol However, the hubby and I did recently find out that Publix keeps bags of fresh, uncooked, pizza dough in their deli. And it’s delicious. Takes the hard work out of making it yourself (and for me, prevents the catastrophes that accompany my cooking…lol).

  14. Barbara S. says:

    Well, I always like having F\five-minute bread dough in the fridge as I can make pizza at the drop of a hat. Well, more the drop of someone starving just walked in the door and I can feed them decent food in thirty minutes or less. (Have you tried it yet? I think you said you got the book.)
    One of my favorite things on pizza is fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden, fresh mozzarella, a drizzle of (garlic) olive oil, and a sprinkle of kosher salt/ DTY adds a dash of lemon juice after it comes out of the oven and that is an excellent addition.
    I agree with G, caramelized onions are an excellent thing on pizza.

Leave a comment