Picnic Game 2013

Welcome to the Picnic Game 2013!  Hold on, wait a minute…

picnic.day.logo.2013

Before you spread out your blanket and start fixing your plate, let’s give credit where credit is due.  Many thanks to our event coordinator and hostess supreme, Louise of Months of Edible Celebrations.  Be sure to visit her, and all of the other food-fixin’ bloggers.

Now, let’s get started.

I’m going on a picnic and I’m bringing…

Aloo Gobi courtesy of Mae

Aloo Gobi courtesy of Mae

… Aloo Gobi, made by Mae

and…

Blueberry-Cucumber Salsa!

Untitled

I was inspired by Budget Gourmet Mom’s Cucumber, Blueberry and Mint Salsa recipe, but since I had the letter “B” for the picnic game, I needed to rename it.  And since we don’t stock agave nectar, the substitutions began.

1/2 cup fresh blueberries

1/2 cup English cucumber, chopped (blueberry sized pieces?)

1/2 tablespoon local blueberry honey

1/2 teaspoon fresh lime juice

3 roughly chopped mint leaves

Toss berries and cucumber.  Drizzle honey and lime juice on top, then gently fold in mint.  Serve with whatever you have in the pantry that suits you.

UntitledSissy and Gg had Pretzel Crisps.  (No corn)  I had regular Wheat Thins.  I liked the Wheat Thins better.  It would be great to tote to any picnic or poolside, or even on a hike, as nothing in the dish is particularly perishable.  As Louise was kind enough to invite the fur-girls, I wanted to bring something they could eat and their human friends might enjoy too.  The Knight wouldn’t try it, but he doesn’t like blueberries or honey very much, so…  he got a pass this time.

What’s your favorite picnic recipe?

Any picnic plans with the 4th of July right around the corner?

22 comments on “Picnic Game 2013

  1. gMarie says:

    Hmmm, I still have some blueberries and wouldn’t that be fab with pork? Picnic, no but The Princess is planning a BBQ on the 4th.

    There are no resting days in my future, not sure if I’m good (don’t need ’em) or wicked.

    g

  2. I’m so glad you and the girls could come to the picnic again, Channon. Of course, I’m sure we could find something for the Knight. There is a ton of food from A to Z! I’m thing Crispy Curry Fried Chicken perhaps?

    I, of course, will be dabbling in that refreshing looking salsa of yours. I love the drizzle of blueberry honey! Nice touch:)

    We are going to have a ball! “See” you and the girls there!

  3. Blond Duck says:

    I have no idea what we’re doing the 4th!

  4. Nancy says:

    I haven’t been on a picnic in years. My favorite picnic dishes, other than fresh fruit, are deviled eggs, potato salad, and fried chicken.

  5. This is such a pretty, fresh-looking salad and I am getting lots of cucumbers for my CSA. I may need to make some of this after the picnic too!

  6. How refreshing! Great for the picnic.. glad to see the dogs had something, too!

  7. This is a delicious salsa, I have never had blueberries in a salsa before, definitely looking forward to this at the picnic! 🙂

  8. ivysew http://simplybeautifulhealthyliving.blogspot.com says:

    This salad is very suitable for the picnic as it’s very refreshing. See you at the picnic 🙂

  9. Katherine says:

    I always get requests to bring my cornbread. I add stuff like cream cheese, fresh corn and jalapenos, and I use butter and cream. It’s an “eat it and enjoy it because you won’t get it again until Thanksgiving” sort of thing. I can’t believe the 4th of July is here already!!

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    A picnic!!! I love a picnic and my favorite part is the dessert – pie always!!! Blueberry is best but cherry is okay too :))) Have a wonderful weekend Channon ~

  11. sue says:

    Haven’t had a picnic in years. Last one was memorable with fine china, crystal and candles on a lovely summer evening.

  12. kathy boyer says:

    That looks so delis!!!!! Cucumbers and blueberries…..yum
    I am going to try it Channon.

    Favorite picnic recipe: well I love cucumber sandwiches. But to be truthful we go and get a bucket of chicken from kentucky fried…

  13. AlisonH says:

    Oh, that sounds wonderful!

    I’d love to drive over the hills to the ocean for the fourth, but the roads are few and narrow and the number of people on the city side of the hills who want to do the same thing… In a month, though, when the grandsons visit.

  14. […] here goes…  I am going on a picnic and I am bringing: A – Aloo Gobi B – Blueberry Cucumber Salsa C – Crispy Curry Fried Chicken D – Dying for Chocolate Chocolate Cake  E – Eton Mess F – […]

  15. Barbara says:

    Hah! Love that you chose the letter B. So much simpler, isn’t it? You’re right up front.
    Yummy combo in your recipe and the girls seem to be sniffing the cukes. Did they eat them?
    Fave picnic food? Potato salad, of course!

  16. Ruth says:

    Our weather just exploded into HOT, so no picnics here. Hard to claim a fav picnic food…I just like both…picnics and food! 🙂

  17. gypsyknits says:

    A family picnic is planned and I must admit, potato salad, deviled eggs and watermelon are a must on our menu.
    That looks very good. I may have to try it. Of course the ‘twin’ doesn’t eat blueberries or honey either :/ Go figure.

  18. Nichole says:

    Oooh… that blueberry cucumber salsa sounds delish!!! I’m going to have to try that one for sure! mmm…

  19. Nee says:

    The Blueberry Cucuber Salsa looks delicious it’s a must have . 🙂

  20. kristy says:

    Now, this is something light for me after the heavy scrumptious food around the picnic table. do you mind if I’m bringing home some too? >o<
    Enjoy & have fun.
    Cheers, Kristy

  21. Chaya says:

    A new combination and one that looks and sounds yummy. Sit near me, please.

  22. […] picnic and I’m bringing ………… A – Aloo Gobi B – Blueberry Cucumber Salsa C – Crispy Curry Fried Chicken D – Dying for Chocolate Chocolate Cake E […]

Leave a comment