Giving Contest

Okay!  Here’s the slightly more concise contest post.

Nannie playing with a dog

Nannie playing with a dog

In memory of my dear, sweet Nannie, I’m having a contest.  It runs through November 29th, and there are a multitude of ways to enter.

Firstly, there’s Gaylen‘s mission to make more shelter pets comfortable this winter.  HERE is her post about why she’s making cushions for her local shelter, which will inspire you too.  Because she knows I can’t sew, she even did a step-by-step post on a no-sew version for me. 

  1. Leave a comment committing to make a cushion or ten for YOUR local shelter.  No deadline, but I trust you.
  2. If you actually complete your cushion and deliver it before the contest ends, you get another entry, but I will need to see a photo.
  3. If someone else leaves a comment and says you sent ’em, you get another entry.

Then, there’s a quest several of us are on for meaningful little gifts.  I’ve never enjoyed going overboard for Christmas, so I’m always looking for small items that pack a big punch.  The Knight struggles to shop for me, which amazes me.  I’m really not that hard to please! 

Let’s define simple, little gift.  It should be less than $30 (WAY less is even better!), and it should be something your average Knight or Page could find in town or without too much trouble online.  No knitting/yarn related ideas please, because most dudes just won’t bother, and we’re good at picking knitting goodies out for each other.

  1. One entry for sharing your ideas.
  2. Another if someone shows up and says you sent ’em.

This is a perfect way to remember Nannie, and two things she did well.  She excelled at finding a special gift on a tight budget, and she loved dogs and cats a lot.  I’ll randomly select one or two winners, based on the participation.  Winners will receive prizes yet to be determined.

18 comments on “Giving Contest

  1. gaylen says:

    We have laminate floors and a no shoe policy – so I always like a new pair of inexpensive slippers. If they have a rubber sole so I can go check the mail in them better!

    I’m also a big fan of Burt’s Bees lip balm – just the regular one.

    Oh, I found a couple of really fun book series. A nice gift would be the first book or two in the series. You can always get the rest if you like them. I have really enjoyed Claire Coyle’s Coffeehouse mysteries; Laurien Berenson writes a mystery series about a woman who shows poodles – it’s the Melanie Travis series; and Joanne Fluke writes the Hannah Swensen mysteries. All 3 are quick easy reads with good character development. Love them all!

    But please don’t enter me in your contest. I hope you find the perfect answer to your search. g

  2. anniebananie says:

    Let me see what I have downstairs in the craft room. I know I had fleece at one point, but don’t know if I still have it. If so, I’ll make one and bring it to you next week or the week after.

    As for small gifts – here are some that I am thinking about this year.

    1. A donation to a charity in the recipient’s name (guys can do this online even!)
    2. Peppermint foot lotion and those wonderful fuzzy socks from Bath and Body Works.
    3. Breakfast in bed (I want this one, but doubt I’ll get it).

  3. Dawn says:

    Homemade gifts are best!

    or…
    nice book and bookmark
    candle
    gift cards
    special ornament

  4. holly says:

    Ok, for all those family members who don’t carry pictures, one gift on the top of my list is under $20 and its the digital picture key ring. It holds like 180 pictures. If I think of any more I will let you know.

  5. nichole says:

    What a great way to remember Nannie… the 5th anniversary of my Nana’s passing is Sunday.

    Some of my ideas/perfect gifts would be:

    1) something to do with US – rather its framing a photo or having something special made

    2) a special card

    3) a meaningful ornament

    4) something that he got “just because” he knew I’d love it

  6. Dianne says:

    Great contest to honor a wonderful Nannie. I’ll definitely make some doggy/kitty beds. Hmmm, gifts from the Knight or Page… How about a donation to a local shelter? Even APSCA or HSUS would be great, and they can do it online. Or maybe some scented lotions or bath oil and such?

  7. insanknitty says:

    Hey you!

    I will gladly make a doggy/kitty bed 🙂 I have the perfect fleece downstairs waiting to be used for something special… 🙂 It will be a way to ‘give/throw away 50 things before January’ too!

    As for simple gifts…

    When in doubt I go with a chain restaurant gift card. Restaurants are certain to feel the pinch with the economy the way it is… and as I know we are going out less and less often, a gift card would be a nice way to enjoy a long awaited night out…

    Other great ‘gift cards’ I like to give…
    -movies (rentals or the theater)
    -book store
    -craft store
    -iTunes card

    Other low cost gift ideas I myself am looking for:
    Picture frames to put some new photos up on the walls, kitchen gadgets in need of replacing.

    Each year I try to get the hubby something for his car… like a mitten style scraper, or bag of kitty litter for if he needs it in the parking lot at work on those icy winter weather days… that sort of thing… 😉

    Good luck in your hunt!!!

  8. Anne says:

    Thanks for the thoughts for mom – she should be getting prepped for her procedure now. I just know any prayers help.

    And while it sounds like a cop out – gift cards. Starbucks, B&N, a favorite restaurant or little shop – somewhere that I know someone either is going to go and spend money anyhow, or enjoys going to but never wants to spend the extra little bit. If there’s actual thought behind where they are for, I think it makes a difference. Well unless you’re my ma – she loves them no matter what store they’re for LOL

  9. MrPuffy says:

    Hum. I don’t qualify for this contest but I like the sentiment for both ideas. I’m also searching for small gift items. Sometimes I like to give a gift certificate to a chocolate shop if I don’t know them very well.

  10. Anita says:

    small gift items that I like to give or get….

    1. homemade dishcloths
    2. Bath & Body Shower Gel & the Hand Soap in the pump bottles (my favorite scent is Wild Honeysuckle)
    3. Scented Candles
    4. books (used or new is fine with me)
    5. bookmark
    6. dishcloths & hotpads bought somewhere like walmart
    7. hand lotion
    8. chapstick

    I’m sure I could think of plenty more…..

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    This is more of sharing a memory than something I think the Knight would do. 😉

    Every Christmas, my Grandma would give each of us a crisp, brown paper, grocery bag. Inside the bag were a several packs of underwear and socks. (I know it sounds weird, but it was tradition for some reason. I guess she figured we’d worn holes in everything by the end of the year. lol) Nothing fancy…just your plain, every-day-wear stuff.

    Anyhow, we never realized how important those gifts were until she passed away. Our first Christmas without her was painful, but the most striking thing was the absence of those plain paper bags under the tree. After that first year, my Mom picked up the tradition and one day, I’ll do it for my kids and grandkids.

    ‘Cause we’re weird that way. 😉

  12. Sue says:

    One of my favorite inexpensive gifts to give is a nice picture frame. There are so many pretty ones out there. We all have digital cameras, so it’s easy to add a picture of their child or pet.

    At Christmas time I make sure my Amazon wish list is up to date, then e-mail it to Rob. With just a click he can order things I really want.

  13. Nicole (ikkinlala) says:

    When my family is looking for simple little gifts, we tend to choose things that are either homemade or secondhand. I knit and cook (the year my brother first moved out I gave him a pan of lasagna for Christmas), my dad has given people wooden boxes or spoons, and my mom often gives people dried herbs from the garden. I got a thoughtful mixtape from a friend once, and my uncle once gave me a cutting from one of his houseplants in a pot that he’d painted a picture on.

    Secondhand items are usually books or CDs, but occasionally we’ll find other things at thrift shops or garage sales that are perfect for somebody.

    A few other ideas: interesting notebooks/journals, little consumable treats like fancy tea, or a ticket to a local event (there’s a theatre group in my hometown which puts on plays sometimes that two people can attend for under $30).

  14. […] forget my contest either.  The ideas aren’t just for the Knight, but for any of us looking for spare-the-bank […]

  15. Natalie says:

    I can’t promise that I will get it to the shelter before the end of the contest but can I say that I will try. 🙂 I’m ok not being a part of the contest but I want to try to make some! I had to give back the sewing machine I was borrowing so I’ll try to make the no-sew one. 🙂

  16. […] is also your last chance to enter the contest.  Gretchen is also 13 weeks old today, and will be four months old tomorrow.  More things to […]

  17. Barbara says:

    Well, I am planning on doing a post about your contest, later today. (‘Cause its almost 2 AM here and I am falling asleep as I type.) Is it ok if I just give my ideas on my blog? Later today?

  18. Barbara says:

    OK, it is finally up!

Leave a comment