Oh Bother!

I’m feeling Eeyore-ish today.  It’s grey outside, my inlaws are crabby (and I would be too if my hot water heater had been on the fritz for ten days, with one repair in there that obviously didn’t take), and it’s just not a happy day.  I have an FO, but secret knitting abounds, so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

How about cocoa topic #3?

Marshmallows/Whipped Cream – The big debate.

How do you prefer you top your cocoa?  If you like marshmallows, do they need to be the big ones, little ones, homemade, gourmet, flavored?  If it’s whipped cream, is it fresh, the kind in the can, flavored?  Or are you a fluff gal?  Or… do you like your cocoa naked?  Tell us about how you top off your favorite cup of chocolate!

To heck with all of that!  The Knight has created his own perfect cuppa’, and he kindly made a cup for me and for Mrs. Pissy (who isn’t a pissy person at all, but that’s the easiest way to describe her).  It’s heaven!  He takes a packet of regular hot cocoa, a packet of french vanilla (yeah, I claim to hate the stuff), and dumps them into a 16 ounce cup, adding hot water.  He then drops a peppermint in, and stirs until it melts.  Once it melts, he adds liquid creamer, and that’s perfect for me. 

Now, I don’t know that I’ve ever turned down REAL whipped cream on ANYTHING…

I also have to tell you that I’ve spent the better part of the morning trying to comply with a 25 random things tag I got (twice) on Facebook.  I was up to #11 the first time, when WordPress decided to log me off for no obvious reason, and I really tried, but I couldn’t get past #5 when I tried again – twice.

Instead,  here are a few random photos, for your entertainment.

25 Random Things

25 Random Things

16 comments on “Oh Bother!

  1. gaylen says:

    It must be in the air. Try dropping a dollop of french vanilla ice cream into your hot chocolate sometime – fabulous! Seriously.

    As for secret knitting – just show it on the blog. If you don’t make a big deal about it being a secret the giftee will be surprised when they get it, you will also have an idea if they will like it by the comments they leave – like “who cares HOW you made them.” ❤ g

  2. Tobi says:

    I drink my hot chocolate a few different ways:
    1. hot water, hot chocolate packet, little bit of creamer
    2. Tons o’ mini-marshmallows
    3. hot water, hot chocolate packet stirred together with a peppermint stick

    Love the pics. Especially of the hounds (of course).

    Hope your day gets better.

    Tobi

  3. Sue says:

    I like hot chocolate any way I can get it, with marshmallows, whipped cream or naked. I also like a dollop of Bailey’s in it on cold evenings.

  4. Robin in VA says:

    Instead of Blue Monday it’s Grey Monday…let’s hope for snow tomorrow!

  5. insanknitty says:

    ohhh how did you put the 25 photos together..

    and I agree with sue.. nothing better than a bit of Bailey’s in the cocoa 🙂

  6. holly says:

    The hubby has good taste. That is exactly how I make mine at work except for the vanilla I use Ghirdelli Mocha to mix. It is too strong if I don’t add regular chocolate, but the peppermint is good with liquid creamer.

  7. Bubblesknits says:

    Hrm…what kind of liquid creamer? Just plain? I definitely need to try this. 🙂

  8. Dawn says:

    It all sounds soooo good but I can’t have chocolate or milk products! whah! Thats cool how you got all 25 pics together!

  9. nichole says:

    Would that be french vanilla flavored hot cocoa??

  10. nichole says:

    Would that be french vanilla flavored hot cocoa??

    Did word press eat my comment?

  11. Anita says:

    Loved the photos… 🙂

    I’m just feeling frazzled. I’m tired, I’m grouchy, & I wanted Fri off but can’t cause someone else wants off, I need some sleep, I need a clean house, I need groceries, & some dang time to myself!

    SNOL, just what you wanted to hear right? 🙂

  12. Pam says:

    Try hot chocolate with Butterscotch Schnapps, it’s great anytime, sorry you missed this at the Retreat!

  13. Amanda says:

    I love the photo block on your post! I suspect Blogger cannot do such a cool thing.

    Today was a crap-ass day, wasn’t it! I don’t usually feel that way about Mondays, either. When you start at the bottom, there is only one way to go. The rest of the week has to be better. 🙂

  14. Darcy says:

    No time to knit since last saturday.The cocoa the knight makes sounds delicious can he pass me a mug;)Hugs Darcy

  15. Robin says:

    Hot Chocolate – TONS of whipped cream! Then, sprinkle a little cinnamon on top. Chocolate sprinkles are nice, too! I haven’t gotten into Facebook. Don’t think I have the energy! Love all the doggie pictures -especially of the two of them together. Toooooo cute!

  16. Oh my, the Knights Perfection Cocoa sounds AWESOME!!

Leave a comment