Matter of Trust

Happy Dogs on Thursday to you!  Sissy has already posted on the fur-girls’ blog this morning.   She and her steroids are doing okay.  It’s hard to watch her suffer from the side effects of a drug I don’t take without a fight because of those very same side effects.  So far, she doesn’t seem to be nearly as emotional as I get when I have to take prednisone, but all the other stuff – especially the excessive thirst – is there.

Slumbering Sissy Fall 2008

That’s perhaps my favorite sleeping beauty  Sissy pose.  She was a tired, silly pup right at a year old there.  Rest assured, she’s getting lots of pampering to make the awful medicine seem better than it might!

Gretchen always wants to help!

Actually, I wanted to share something I’ve run across recently with you.  While the fur-girls don’t shed nearly as much as some dogs, we do have more than our share of dog hair to sweep and vacumm up regularly.  Given the sad state of affairs along the Gulf Coast, we’re going to be supporting Matter of Trust whole-heartedly.  Please click  over and see how you can help.   HERE is a direct link to how to donate.  They need funding too, so those of us whose dogs just don’t shed enough hair to fill a box can still support the effort!

Spring 2009

Thankful Thursday?   Well, I’m thankful for a husband who really is as devoted to the fur-girls as I am.     The Knight endured YEARS of Mugsy growling, snarling, even snapping when he came to bed, and still loved that dog dearly.  I am blessed, and so are the dogs!

Happy little friday to you!

17 comments on “Matter of Trust

  1. Natalie says:

    Awe…what a cute picture of laziness! 🙂 Will have to check out that trust.

  2. Sue says:

    I hope the pred works for her and she gets back on track soon.

    We’re planning to do some grooming this weekend and send our hair, mats and all to the Gulf.

    I second that having a patient husband is great. This morning Rob dressed for a business meeting, then sat at the table in his clean neat light colored pants for breakfast. Of course, drooly Samba parked her wet face on his leg and left a big wet spot there. he didn’t complain, just wiped it off and put a towel over his lap to finish eating.

  3. grace says:

    Prednisone does awful things to me, while it is the ONLY thing that completely takes away the wheezing, the thirst, the leg cramps, the emotional upheaval and the munchies, heck some MaryJane and Margaritas with salt would do the same side effects, now if it would help the wheezing!!!

  4. gmarie says:

    I forgot how much pred makes them drink and drink. Gotta check that link on sending dog hair – to help soak up the oil? Interesting. . . .

    and yes a patient spouse is worth their weight in gold – you are so very, very right on that score. g

  5. Barbara says:

    Chan, that is such a funny 2008 photo of Sissy! What a beautiful dog she is! I am so sorry she has gotten all the side effects. I have had to take prednisone twice in my life (both times for skin disorders) and I have never enjoyed anything as much. My arthritis went completely away and I felt I could jump tall buildings. Don’t remember having any negative side effects. We are all so different.

    I knew about hair sopping up the oil; told my hairdresser about it. After all, where are you going to find my hair than at a beauty shop??

  6. Barbara says:

    Oh. And forgot. Good for the Knight putting up with a snarling protective, jealous dog! He must be a doll.

  7. Nichole says:

    Happy Little Friday… glad to see the support of Matter of Trust! 🙂
    Hope Sis feels well soon…..

  8. AlisonH says:

    Your Knight is a Prince.

  9. Marjie says:

    There was an article about an alpaca farm here sending their excess fiber to that organization, right in my paper this morning.

    Hope Sissy’s meds work out for her. It’s hard to deal with sick kids or dogs.

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    OH MY GOSH…that is such a precious picture of Sissy. 😀 She cracks me up.

    Thanks for the link about the trust. Definitely checking that out.

  11. Thank goodness for the Knight! He is truly something to be thankful for.

  12. Blond Duck says:

    The Babies shed everywhere!

  13. km says:

    I’m doing a week of prednisone right now too. I started 7 pills on Tuesday and wean down to 1 pill next Monday. I didn’t know about the excessive thirst. I am consuming a LOT of Iced Tea though.

  14. Mr Puffy says:

    You are indeed blessed! Sorry to hear Sissy is on medication. I’m well familiar with Prednisone. Along with the excessive thirst you will notice excess wee wee…..

    Sleeping beauty ~ what a cutie!

    Interesting about Mugsy, BTW. Currently have a heightened interest in all dog aggression stories – LOL

  15. Anita says:

    Give Sissy an extra smooch from me! I hope she gets to stop taking the pills soon & feels better.

    What a great effort that Matter of Trust is, I went over & read about it. I wish Jazzy shedded more, for a cat she really doesn’t shed much.

  16. Dianne says:

    Prednisone is nasty stuff, alright! Hope it helps her!

  17. kathy b says:

    Oh Gosh, I am saying a special prayer for her to St. Francis. Your KNight is great to be on the same dog page as you are! Have a good weekend.

Leave a comment