Old Rules

September 2010 004

9-11-10 Ceremony

Monday – Memorial Day here in the US – marks the unofficial start of summer.   However, for me it also means I can wear white shoes, carry a white bag, wear patent leather, etc., from now until Labor Day

I know, I know… those are old rules – see the post title?!  Problem is, I’m a well-programmed little Southern belle, and I feel generations of well-heeled women glaring down at me when I test those limits.  I have worn white capris and a white dress already and didn’t feel guilty, but I’m still that 13 yr. old who met ancestral guilt in Nathaniel Hawthorne’s House of the Seven Gables.  

(Hmmm… suddenly have a hankering to read that.  Anyone know if it’s free for Nook or Kindle?)

As it so happens, I only own one pair of white sandals and haven’t worn them in … at least two years.  I did lovingly dust them off and consider them last week with the white dress, but given my nearly neon white legs… hem. 

Lilly P too heavy wicker bag...

I am thinking I’d love a white – or bisque? – bag for summer, but then there’s straw/wicker…  Have you seen any great white bags or a straw bag with some structure that doesn’t weigh more than Gretchen?

Do you have any season-specific fashion rules? 

Any big plans for the weekend?

This entry was posted in Bags.

16 comments on “Old Rules

  1. Jessica says:

    I wear white shirts, and that is about it as far as white goes in my wardrobe. I have a Frederick that jumps, and nearly ALWAYS has muddy paws. I am really pushing the limits with the white shirts! :o)
    white bags…same deal, i get them filthy too fast. I do have a super cute green, white a yellow canvas Fossil bag that my MIL got me last year that i LOVE, and that is the only white accessory i have.
    hmmm, fashion rules. i don’t generally wear corduroy in the summer months..well, no…scratch that, i have two cord jackets (tan and black) that i will wear on a chilly summer day.

    i guess i do not wear velvet formal dresses to summer time formals, and that is pretty much it as far as rules go!!

  2. Mary says:

    No plans, no rules, no straw bags, no white in my closet except for a blouse/knit top or two. Man, I am boring.

  3. Nichole says:

    Happy almost summer!
    That bag is gorgeous – too bad it’s so heavy.
    I went to look at this year’s Vera straw but left it at the store…..

  4. gMarie says:

    I tend to follow the white between Memorial Day and Labor Day. I don’t carry a white bag, although I do have a lovely bone leather bag that I use rarely.

    I love Banana Boat’s tinted moisturizer. Shower, dry, apply, then let your legs dry while you do hair and make up. You will get just enough color that your legs (and arms) aren’t neon.

    I need to do something – but I do not know what. g

  5. Kathy says:

    Stacy and Clinton say you don’t need to follow the outmoded rules and I agree with them. That said, I love white in the summer. I have white shorts, pants, jeans, and tops. Wearing white makes me mentally feel cooler. I know I’m fooling myself, but anything helps in our killer summers. I’m not fond of white shoes and white bags seem impractical for me. I love wicker! I find department stores usually have cute wicker bags, not too expensive. I look forward to seeing whatever you purchase!

  6. Sue says:

    My Grandmother lived by all those rules. Don’t wear certain colors together,etc. I grew up with them, hated them then, ignore them now. I don’t wear white for very different reasons.

    I really like that bag.

  7. Target had some great crocheted bags really sturdy–but none of the ones around here have any left!!!

    My Olivia order shipped alread (I stockpiled quite a few)

  8. Kathy says:

    I sneak white clothing on in April if it’s not snowing up here. But after Labor Day? No way. I can hear my grands having meltdowns if I did so ;).

    Love the wicker bag look. So summery.

  9. Amy says:

    I used to follow the ‘no white before Memorial Day’ to the letter. That is, until my favorite warm weather dress was a white one. Now, I just don’t care.

    But wouldn’t it be nice if people did think about those things more often? I mean, the way people dress to start with sometimes, showing everything and anything to viewing public, it makes me wonder.

  10. Marjie says:

    I follow the “white” rules, too, as do my girls. One of them decided to be a rebel and start carrying an ivory bag last week. Her sisters chided her.

    No big plans; none needed, really. Having family around is enough, and, of course, an extra day off is always really good, too, right?

  11. Dorothy says:

    I had a hard time putting white shoes on my 2 yo for Easter. But I also had a hard time buying her new black shoes that wouldn’t fit by the fall. The rules economy won out over rules of fashion.

    Enjoy the summer!

  12. Louise says:

    I too follow the white rule. Whenever I buy a white purse before the day I just can’t bring myself to use it. This coming from a “girl” who owns nothing white more than a tee shirt and wears jeans 99% of the time. That said, I do feel there should be some sort of “rules” for a seasonal dress code.

    Except for the sounds of the thunder and lightening, a quiet Memorial Day weekend on the horizon. Enjoy, yours Chan.

  13. kathy b says:

    I usually am completey unaware of the rules. My mom dressed fashionably but didnt shop with us much or make us follow rules. I fiegn ignorance!
    I love a great wicker bag or straw bag.> Cant wait to see what you find!

  14. Barbara says:

    I’m with you on the white shoes! Even living in Florida, I don’t wear them until this weekend. And we were never allowed to go swimming in Michigan until this weekend either. 🙂
    The summer bag I carry is so heavy you would not believe it! Wish I could find one I like as much to replace it!

  15. Knitting It Out says:

    Went furniture shopping! Got some deals, and our den will be so comfy in August when the furniture gets here 🙂

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    I unintentionally follow those rules. Probably from years of having it beat into my head while I was growing up. lol Although, I rarely wear white anyway. Show’s dirt too easily. ; )

Leave a Reply

