Remembering to Remember

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday.  The girls have a very special post up today; Gretchen in particular is honored to host the FiveSibes blog tour. 

Now… we’re always up for supporting our doggy bloggy friends or any good cause, but canine epilepsy has touched my life too.  When I was ten, I awoke one Sunday morning to my cocker spanial in the throes of a grand mal seizure.   Thankfully, my father had been a medic and my mother, a pediatric nurse, so they quickly managed the crisis and we were soon at our vet’s, even though they didn’t offer Sunday or emergency hours.  Hem. 

Sadly, our aged pet’s body wasn’t up for a big fight and given that the story is set in 1980, medicine – human and pet – hadn’t made all the strides it has today.  She lived in relative comfort for a few more months, and I learned about hospice first-hand; my parents and I were both there when the end came. 

Gulp… moving on…

December 2011 018

Gretchen, the thinker...

Gretchen also hinted that I might explain today why we made the change from Dogs on Thursday to Thorsday when the great gentledog giant crossed the bridge, and I think that’s a fabulous idea.  Given that I’m still a little wrapped up in Nevernever and many of the twists on faerie lore within, I’m going to paraphrase something I read in one of those books.

There’s a notion that Puck (yes, from Shakespeare’s A Midsummer’s Night Dream) and the Wolf (we know him as the Big Bad Wolf from Little Red Riding Hood and more) and other immortal residents of Nevernever (or Faerie, or whatever you might know it as) live on because we keep talking about them.  When they fall from popular conversation, they begin to fade and when they cease to exist in pop culture, they … cease to exist.

Now, being a fan of Shakespeare and fantasy and faeries, I’m pretty sure that isn’t a new concept, but this is the first time I’ve really “chewed” on that concept.  I certainly didn’t have any such deep philosophy in mind when I was moved to rename Dogs on Thursday as Thorsday; it just seemed obvious.  (In case not everyone is a little obsessed with myths and trivia, Thor is a god of yore and Thursday is indeed named after him.)  Never mind that all of this also happened around the time that Dogs on Thursday languished.  (Disclaimer:  I am also a former administrator of DoT.  There just aren’t enough hours in a day, and I mean no disrespect at all.)

January 2012 007

Sissy the Serious?

So, there you have it.  I’ll likely blog about dogs on Thursdays for as long as I blog, and given the Thor/Thursday thing, it is forever Thorsday for me.   I know Thor is gentledog enough that he shares his remembrance day with my own Fred, Mugsy, Soot, Mopsy (the seizure-sufferer), Stinger… and all of the other dogs dear to me and to you whom have crossed the bridge already.

Thankful Thursday?  I’m thankful for books and friends who make me think.   I did major in philosophy, but I’ve been fascinated by myths since elementary school.  (I seriously wish I had a photo of 4th grade Athena at Halloween for you…)  I love stumbling across things that make me go “hmmm…” in unexpected places, although I shouldn’t be surprised anymore than I find powerful themes in Harry Potter or evidently, even in a Harlequin Teen series.

What has left you thinking lately?

11 comments on “Remembering to Remember

  1. gmariesews says:

    hmmm – well your posts. Yesterday the dress I was wearing had me wondering if I really knew what I was doing making my own clothes – until I looked a bit closer and realized I did. Friend’s relationships and how they impact us. Religion. g

  2. Katherine says:

    I’m thinking seriously about this canine epilepsy thing. We have lost to fur-friends to illnesses that caused seizures, my little Buttons and our son’s Husky Nicholas. I hope we never have to see another furry family member in the throes of an epileptic seizure. Buying a book to donate to our Vet’s office is an excellent idea. I’m so thankful for the two sleeping balls of fur at my feet right now!

    I’m also thankful on Thorsday for books and friends. A good book recommended by a good friend and two warm pups in my lap–what more could anyone want?

  3. kathy b says:

    Ive been thinking about Boundaries. Reading about them too> My father is a multilayered manipulator, although a good man. He is heading to surgery in April and I need to re establish healthy boundaries and keep them through out the upcoming self induced medical crises he insists on . I think he should not have surgery.
    but he didn’t ask his daughter the nurse or his granddaughter the nurse
    He asked his favorite daughter, my sister the Lawyer…

  4. AlisonH says:

    Squirrel Wars, round eleventy-leven.

  5. Marjie says:

    Um, I try not to think because it hurts my head?

    OK, maybe not. But I contemplate too much stuff, and that does hurt my head. For instance, don’t get me started on the universe, which just can’t be….think about it. If everything is inside the universe, what is the universe inside of? A giant pail? I don’t think you can name the totallity of all matter, and claim it’s still expanding. That’s how my pea-sized brain works. Scary, right?

    I’d much rather contemplate and laugh at Allison’s Squirrel Wars.

  6. Nichole says:

    Wonderful post… I’ve been thinking about a lot of goings on lately…

  7. Sue says:

    I’m living with too much stress these days and I’m trying to escape into my crafts and not think so much. I’m with Marjie, thinking makes my head hurt. Squirrel wars, now there’s something I can consider.

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I love Marjie. I love Thor. And I’m just so glad you like the series.
    After the vet Monday, I think it’s harder to watch dogs in pain than human children.
    Can I pick your brain about a book I’m writing?

  9. StarSpry says:

    Great pictures! I need to check out this Nevernever series; it sounds like something I’d enjoy 🙂

  10. FiveSibesMom says:

    Wonderful thoughtful post…thank you for sharing our book and joining us in our Canine Epilepsy Awareness crusade.

    I like the idea of always keeping their name spoken and keeping the memory alive. To talk about our furkids who have crossed the Rainbow Bridge, helps keep them memory alive. Even though we will always remember, it’s nice to speak their names and keep them with us. I am touched that we are part of your Thorsday…may Thor be running happily and enjoying his name being spoken as he plays in the fields beyond the Rainbow Bridge. Thank you again for letting us be part of such a special day!

  11. Oh goodness…I think everyone has already touched on things I ponder on a daily basis. Religion…the Universe…the Nevernever (I’m on the 3rd one)…Family Dynamics…Mental/Physical Health…/sigh/. So many things I’d like to know the answers to, but I suppose I’ll have to wait for the answers till I cross over the human version of the Rainbow Bridge myself. Have I mentioned that I’m not patient??? lol

Leave a Reply

