Let there be Litey!

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday, January GMM (League meeting) and Ground Hog Day Eve-eve…

Gretchen’s doing MUCH better, and there’s a little more information over on the girls’ blog, including a (hopefully it works) link to their new Facebook page.  Sissy wants more likes, of course.

51Pv9KaFXVL__SL75_As we try to keep little Miss Me Do It under some kind of control, I finally got a chance to use the Litey Leashes I picked up while I was Christmas shopping.  (Sorry for the little photo…)  Gg has pink, and Sissy has yellow.  I can’t speak to the very bad review on Amazon, but I can tell you it’s a nylon-covered rope light leash, so no, I don’t expect it to last a lifetime as the Lupine leashes do.  However, they’ll be great for night walks at the beach house, and since we don’t take long walks after dark anywhere, I hope they’ll last long enough that I’m not disappointed.  They gave off enough light that I didn’t need to juggle a flashlight with two dogs and a rolling trash can Tuesday night.  For our purposes, they’re great.

DSC00461

Another Gg action shot 2009

Thankful Thursday?  Oh, how thankful I am for great vets, from the staff at the after-hours clinic to our new vet, but really, how blessed are we to have Wondervet still on speed-dial and to have the fine folks at Leesburg Eye Care for Animals as a part of our care team?  I’m really excited about Dr. D’s (the new vet in our lives) interest in opthamology, but it really tickled me to hear how thrilled the Eye Care staffer I spoke with was to learn that too. 

Of course, I’m grateful beyond words that the fine veterinary care has us in the difficult position of trying to keep an active, feels-good girl calm and quiet for another week yet.  Remind me of that in a few days when she’s REALLY testing her limits and my patience!

I’m also moved to a very emotional place when I think about how quickly friends shared advice on Facebook and even offered to pill Gg for me.  It was a beautiful mix of old friends, local friends and “virtual” friends, and it was like a big, supportive hug.

Do you still really love your job?  Sure we all have bad days, but I think part of the Eye Care staffing magic is in their ability to assure the passionate, dedicated people they hire never lose that spark.

 

11 comments on “Let there be Litey!

  1. gmariesews says:

    Some very good thankfuls ther e indeed. I was just wondering if I had it in me to post any. I think emergency vet care has to be the hardest job on the planet. I clearly remember the ER vet crying as she gave us the knews about Dudley – she didn’t know us, she had never met our sweet, sweet boy, and yet she cried with us. And then sent a card when he eventually passed. As did the staff at the same ER vet with Lucy. Hmm – it was a different ER vet than we used with Abby and Beau – with different results.

    Okay – I’m thankful that I had a VERY supportive husband – who when he tried to tell me ‘he told me so’ I reminded him that he was the big pusher. However, he’s pushing now in the right direction. I’m thankful that as things change – he’ll help with dinners and we’ll get more walks in. I’m thankful that he’s willing to go shopping and give a gentle honest opinion.

    We’ve recently decided to let Abby sleep wherever she wants and stop fighting her to get up and go to bed. The stairs are hard for her old body, but she will go outside to potty as long as she can’t get upstairs (why yes, I do have a big house). I’m thankful that the sweet girl now gets up on her own and puts herself to bed when we turn out the lights. Even though she doesn’t have to.

    Enough – right? it’s enough. g

  2. Katherine says:

    I’m very thankful that our vet loves his job, as evidenced by the fact that he has been working in our neighborhood for more than 20 years. He once sat up all night with a stray we found that had heart worms and was very sick. I know this because he called me all during the night with updates. The pup lived after treatment and was shortly adopted by a friend of his. He has never forgotten my devotion to a sick little dog–and I will never forget his!!

    Love my job? Some days not so much, or maybe I should say some seasons! We have established friendships with clients and bonds with area businesses that have clearly stood the test of time so I guess I can say I do love my job. Some days….

    SO SO glad Gg is on the mend!!

  3. Walden121 says:

    I am very glad Gretchen is doing better.

  4. AlisonH says:

    Good for them. I can’t say that emphatically enough. And go Gigi!

  5. Marjie says:

    Glad that Gretchen’s on the mend enough to walk, even if only to fetch the rolling trash can. And hooray for not juggling 2 leashes and a flashlight. You might need one of those silly head lamps if the juggling gets to be too much!

    Sometimes i don’t worry as much about how long something lasts as how it performs. If those leashes do what you need, they’re worthwhile, even if you have to replace them every year or 2.

  6. kathy b says:

    Thankful THursday abounds………..Gg is sounds like she is well on her way to mending. How is her psyche? Lots of play should heal her when she can play again!
    IS she READING yet?

  7. Sue says:

    Yeah for great vets. We need a vet appreciation day.

  8. kathy says:

    Yup, loving the job! So many advantages to working for a bigger company! Today we did an offsite team building at a place called Top Golf. Hmm, not many of my coworkers are golfers (including me) but it was so much fun!

    So glad to hear your pup is on the mend!

  9. Ruth says:

    Yes, really, I do love my job. Teaching in a classroom setting would make me bonkers in a minute, but private, one- on- one teaching is awesome. I love watching the light come on.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I’m thankful I don’t have a job and can create!

  11. Barbara says:

    I think that lighted leash is such a good idea. Let me know if you like it….will tell people about it.
    Pleased Gg is doing well…keep it up!
    I’m thankful my work around this new place is all but done. Will send a few pics later.
    Job? What job? 🙂

Leave a Reply

