Pretending…

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and my last regular general membership meeting as President of the JLC!  It’s also almost Kids in the Kitchen time, and long-time readers know I love that event.

 I love snow too, but enough is enough.  I shared my thoughts – and a photo of the furgirls – on their blog.   I’m ready for flowers and being able to step into the parking lot at work without needing to bundle up.

Sweet Mugsy and Fred are still sending me flowers, and I’m still missing them.  They loved snow far more than the girls do, although even Gretchen has warmed up to the white stuff this winter, in a true testament of that old cliche about if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em…

I’m grateful for each and every one of you.  Your support and friendship is a blessing in my life, and I look forward to having the time to repay your kindness very soon.

In the meantime, can we call the leaves compost and pretend I’m making sure the Boy-dogs’ garden is getting ready to grow beautiful flowers?

Will you share what you’re pretending?

 

10 comments on “Pretending…

  1. nancytimber says:

    I like the leaves because they show the cycle of life.

    Spring and blooms haven’t arrived here yet, but the time is getting closer. Still cold temps here from time to time, so I am pretending that the clouds hanging in the sky contain rain rather than the white stuff.

  2. Katherine says:

    I understand the girls feelings about snow. Macy loves the white stuff but there is no way Max will put his fluffy paws into that wet icy mush. I keep telling him “You’re a boy. You are supposed to be tough.”

    Congratulations on your service to JLC as President. You are loved and valued by so many–especially your blogging buddies!

  3. Marjie says:

    Your link to the girls didn’t work. That’s OK, I understand the sentiment. And by all means, go ahead and tell everyone those leaves are mulch! Oak leaves are better for roses, but maple will do just fine. The crocuses concur.

    Congrats on surviving 2 terms as JLC president. That was really hard on you, with everything else you had going on the past 2 years. Here’s hoping you get to enjoy more down time – starting in April, maybe!

  4. kathy b says:

    JLC is so lucky to have you. i am pretending my joint doesn’t hurt….what did i o to my finger????
    pretending my pants size isn’t going up

  5. Leaves ARE mulch! No pretending needed, only time. 🙂 I am pretending not to be tired…..perhaps another cuppa tea would help with that?

  6. Mary says:

    Congratulations on a term well-served. As was said before, the League was lucky to have you in leadership.

    I am pretending I am getting enough sleep.

  7. AlisonH says:

    I am pretending that that bag of ten 100-gram skeins of Malabrigo Rios is going to be a blankie before next Saturday. Just as soon as I settle on a pattern.

  8. Sue says:

    We don’t have any flowers yet. Winter won’t let go for more than a day or two. I’m pretending that I’m organized when quite the opposite is true.

  9. Walden121 says:

    I’m pretending it isn’t hailing here right now and that Spring has come to Buffalo.

  10. Kathy says:

    Love the saying on the stone and very fitting for me today.
    I’m pretending the upcoming house renovation will go smoothly and Mr. Bettis will cooperate thru it all

Leave a Reply

