Quick & Easy

I love pumpkin.  At least a few of you know that.  Pumpkin pie, pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin butter, pumpkin pasta…  Gaylen has been feeding me pumpkin recipes regularly, and one is too quick and easy not to share.   You just take a box of devils food cake mix and a 15 oz. can of pumpkin, mix (and mix, and stir some more… the pumpkin will absorb the dry mix, save a little spot here and there like the white dot in the photo), bake at 350 degrees for about 24 minutes, and you have a dozen, moist, delicious muffins.  

I’m going to try some different cake mixes soon.  As much as I like chocolate, this was a bit too much for a breakfast muffin.

I also failed to note yesterday that I FINALLY got to walk around in a Trader Joe’s on our way home Saturday.  It was all very exciting, what with free wine samples and all.  There’s a rumor we’re getting one here in hicktown, once Whole Foods builds a new, big store.  I’m not holding my breath, because I’m still waiting for my Fresh Market, which a reliable source said was in the works over two years ago.  Hrmph.  Now, if only I could have a Dillard’s… 

At least I finally have a LYS I like.  It doesn’t have a website that works yet, it’s about as far away as it can be and be an LYS, it’s not open when I can shop, but other than that, it’s great!  I’m having withdrawls; this time of year, I should be in Knitting Addiction every few weeks, and it’s been WELL over a month and I don’t know when I’ll get back there. 

I do have a guild meeting on Saturday, and the girl-pups will be at work with me tomorrow and Friday (the inlaws are off), so don’t feel sorry for me just yet. 

Oh – and Gretchen has developed an interest in yarn.  It’s a bit problematic.  Like Sissy before her, my girls seem to gravitate to whatever yarn is my favorite at the time.  Sissy arrived in my Tofutsies passion and made it her own, making it impossible for me to knit with my favorite yarn, resulting in Tofutsies’s loss of said status due to a lack of use. 

Little Gretchie has been with us for three weeks tomorrow, and yesterday, HER yarn passion displayed itself in a rather strong fashion.  You might have gotten photos if we hadn’t been trying to get out of the house to go pick up Asst. (must remember the T!) Chief Knight’s fire department vehicle.  I’ve been working on an Uh-oh for a blogless Ravelry friend, and the second loop is done in Claudia’s Handpainted Yarn, which is my current favorite yarn to knit with.   It’s the perfect mix of soft, sproing and pretty colors.  Add in that it’s almost a local company, and what’s not to love?

Don’t let the sleepy, innocent face fool you.  She is a Jack Russell Terror after all, and most likely a crup too.  In a flash, she shot out of the bedroom, launched her wee, not even four pound self onto the sofa and grabbed the Uh-ohs AND the remaining ball of yarn.  We were none the wiser, until I walked over to shut off my laptop, and noticed the single strand of yarn, and began pulling.  Gretchen had made a nasty mess of the few yards I’d planned to make the ears/feet with.   

About the time I realized the Uh-ohs were missing, the Knight chuckled and dropped to his knees.  Good thing I have plans for washing this superwash project a million times in an effort to “shrink” it (I know it probably won’t work, but I’m going to try!), because it’s now covered in Gretchen mouth juice and dog hair…

I know Sissy’s coaching her, because when I took a potty break late last night and left the Knight to watch the girls, I came back to find them playing tug o’ war with my #3 40″ Addis!

18 comments on “Quick & Easy

  1. Nancy says:

    Muffins look good and so easy! Is there ginger cake mix?? ahhh…Trader Joe’s. Not one locally, so I’ve never been. But Palma goes up to one a bit north every so often. We LOVE the jars of cacciatore simmer sauce for chicken or pork, so easy and delicious.
    Oh, those naughty yarn-stealin’ pups! Thank goodness Reggae never had a desire. One would think a cat would. I’m very lucky. How did the addi’s fare in the tug of war? (I had to link to Crup to find out what that was!)

  2. Now we’re talking Uh OH indeed!! No dogs in the knit bag for me, I’ll send them to jail (their kennel). We have both Trader Joes and Whole Foods in Sacto…just a little too far away for getting there very often.

  3. CathyT says:

    Yeah, Miss Jetta (who will be 5 months on the 16th) also decided to break bad one afternoon when my DMF was watching the furry ones … he was able to re-wind before I got home, but he did advise me gingerly of the rule infractions, hoping it would not be punishable by … puppy jail (aka ‘house’, ‘room’ and ‘box’ when I’m really steamed).

  4. StarSpry says:

    Thanks for the quick & easy pumpkin recipe! Sounds pretty good.

    How unfortunate that Gretchen likes your yarn! I hope you can stop that habit fast 🙂 I can’t believe the Knight let the girls play tug ‘o war with your Addis!!

  5. nichole says:

    Sounds like Gretch was just trying to add to the Uh-Oh factor…… 🙂 (sorry, I couldn’t resist… and from a 4 doggy household, I CAN joke… lol)

  6. gaylen says:

    You know – I thought the same thing when I made them. Personally I was thinking spice cake and a jumbo muffin pan. The small size muffins are only 3 points or roughly 150 calories though – so not bad.

    Sad about Gretchen eating the yarns. Little stinker. And The Knight – I think he lost his status as royalty if he’s going to let them play tug with your circular needles! g

  7. holly says:

    Love Whole Foods and Fresh Market, just don’t get to them enough because they are located across town 45 min drive. After driving to work everyday, so I stop when I have to pick up my nephew in that area.

    Sissy must of been wispering in Gretchen’s ear all along, that this is some good stuff to play with that momma loves. That was funny to read, how she has got into your knitting, but its not funny when they chew your Brittany bamboos up (Max did).

  8. Sue says:

    Glad to see she’s decided she’s a JR after all. I was getting worried that you might have found the world’s calmest, best behaved puppy.

    I love the Uh-Ohs. I’ve never seen them before and I know so many people and pooches
    that would enjoy them.

  9. Dawn says:

    Never heard of Whole Foods…we do have a Trader Joe’s, no LYS though! MMMMMM the muffins sound great! Can’t have the chocolate though 😦

    What a little stinker Gretchen is! Fuji loves Tofutsie too, her next favorite is anything with alpaca! She hasn’t done any knitting in awhile though, thank goodness and never ever the needles.

    Have a great day!

  10. Monica says:

    Thos Uh Ohs are so cute! All the Mochiland patterns are. They’d make good cat toys…. lol

    I LOVE pumpkin-anything too!

  11. MrPuffy says:

    Crup – Snort – too funny! Don’t forget to try pumpkin ravioli it’s won-der-ful.

    I have a Whole Foods 1 block from a Trader Joes – it’s perfect because I buy all my fruits/vegetables at Whole Foods and then toodle over to Trader Joes for Poultry items(which has a good Kosher and organic selection).

  12. Anita says:

    Uh Oh! I think your girls have been talking to Mr. Bettis! He’s a bad infulence! SNOL

    Ummm, I don’t think the Knight was watching them was he?

    Love the photo though, she looks so innocent. You are in trouble now that she has that one mastered! he he

  13. Ana says:

    Awww she looks so innocent.

  14. KM says:

    I use a spice cake and 4 egg whites. YUM! We’ve been eating these a lot. With the egg whites, I think I get almost 24 muffins. The chocolate is on my to try list. I’ll have to link you to these fabulous bars a friend brought to our bible study last week. I think she said they were Martha Stewart.

  15. Darcy Watts says:

    I love pumpkin everything Mmmm.We have a whole wheatery 40 minutes away.My cat precious was messing with the wrapping paper and my knitting today must be a full moon.lol Hugs Darcy

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    We so want a Whole Foods closer to us, but I doubt we’ll get one. 😦

    Gretchen says it was a setup. 😉

  17. Dianne says:

    Those muffins look great. Is there any such thing as too much chocolate in the morning? I’ll bet they would be yummy with a spice cake mix. Maybe gingerbread? Yum, yum, yum. Can you tell I’m hungry?

    I’m fairly certain that Gretchen must have heard you talking about shrinking the Uh-Ohs, and was only trying to help the process along. She looks like such an angel in that picture! 🙂

  18. crimsonpurl says:

    Gurl TJ is the best place EVA!!!!
    (as I boil my lobster pasta in pomodoro sauce and eat my Joe Joe cookies – TO DIE 4!!!)

    Hope y’all get one soon as I feel blessed there is one less than 10 minutes from me!! ;op

Leave a comment