Chief for the Day

We had such a full weekend!  Friday evening, we had terrible storms, complete with hail and some wind sheer.  Luckily, the only damage at our house was to my roses, and the Knight isn’t sure whether the badly bent branch will make it or not.  

Well, okay, there are a few branches down, or as is the cases here, not quite down.  This one is dangling over the dog pen, so I hope it falls while the fur-girls are inside    not in the pen.  There is a lot more damage around the area though, so we were lucky.

I did a quick update on the girls’ blog, but thank you for checking on Sissy and wishing her well.   I think the prednisone is working, but she’s sure not my happy-go-lucky girl…

Saturday morning, we had fun with a little chief for the day and her family.   I’d forgotten how much fun it is to introduce youngsters to the firehouse for the first time!  

From there on, Saturday was just jammed-packed.  We went to lunch, bought fruit, and I had just enough time to cut up all the fruit for a fruit salad to take to the afternoon birthday party for a friend.  Then, errands and dinner and some moonlight car window-shopping. 

What do y’all think about station wagons?  We’re trying to live greener, but we still need cargo room for our trips to the beach, and I don’t want to give up my elevated driving position.  Some wagons will allow for all of that AND better gas mileage.   The Subaru Outback is high on my list, but are there other wagons out there you know and love?

How was your weekend?

18 comments on “Chief for the Day

  1. Dianne says:

    OMG, when I read the sentence “This one is dangling over the dog pen, so I hope it falls while the fur-girls are inside,” I first interpreted that as while the fur girls are inside the dog pen!!! I realized my mistake and have been chuckling about it ever since.

  2. gmarie says:

    that Dianne – she’s a card! I’d be tempted to haul a ladder out and pull that thing down while I knew the dogs were safe – or better yet – make the Knight do it.

    the firehouse’s new chief looks horribly young but I’m sure she’s up for the job. Glad your weekend was fun. g

  3. I think the new wagons are a good thing. Subaru looks nice to me, but I haven’t ever sat in one, which is what really matters…Sweet Sissy pic…she’s looking at you with such love….

  4. anniebananie says:

    You KNOW how much I love my outback, and since I found out that the Hyundai Santa Fe costs the same as an outback, I’m getting another outback when it’s time. They have been redesigned to be bigger and beefier and still keep the same gas mileage. Heck, my outback has 246K miles on it and still gets 24 with the AC on and 26 without the AC on – same as when it was new!

    Have I convinced you yet?

  5. Nichole says:

    The inlaws love their Passat wagon… very, very much.

    Glad to hear your damage was minimal… I know how that can be!

  6. Marjie says:

    All my cars are old Americans, and I can’t bring myself to contemplate ever buying anything without an American name plate. I know some are made here, but still….

    Glad you had no damage. It was chilly all weekend in WV and here, but I had no rain in either place. Luck was with me.

  7. Barbara says:

    Sorry about the storm damage, Chan…and glad it wasn’t any worse.
    I drive a leased Jeep, but will be turning it in around November. Being from Michigan it’s been drilled into me to drive an American car…this time I am going with Ford. My son is pushing me towards the Escape. I need an SUV.

    Looks like we are getting rain this afternoon.
    More later via email.

  8. AlisonH says:

    Look at those soulful eyes. Love’em. (And glad that branch didn’t do worse!)

    That kid looks like a future firefighter in the making. She’ll never forget getting to do that.

  9. Blond Duck says:

    Now you’ve got me craving fruit salad…

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    Glad y’all didn’t have more damage than that. We had some thunderstorms yesterday, but it was a typical spring storm and nothing more.

    Love the chief for a day pic! My kids would love something like that. 🙂

    Poor Sissy. Too bad you can’t give her some chocolate and ice cream. That normally works for me. lol

  11. Anita says:

    I’m glad you guys didn’t have any damage & I hope that limb is down now… get the Knight to get that thing down before it hurts someone. 🙂

    I hope Sissy gets back to her normal self soon. Poor girl.

  12. Mary says:

    Vehicles: Subie, Edge, Escape…one of them, perhaps. All depends how it feels when you sit behind the wheel. I remember thinking I wanted a certain car, but when I got in the driver’s seat, I hated it. Instantly. Just has to feel right and be able to get out of its own way.

    Glad you survived the storm. Was in Lancaster, PA over the weekend camping (rain, rain Friday night, of course), but when I checked the weather back at home on-line, up pops “TORNADO WARNING.” That got my attention, but all was well…funnel clouds sighted, but no touchdown. Whew.

  13. Dawn says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend….remember when Jimmy used to love to go to fire station day!

  14. Kathy says:

    Well I hope that branch comes down in the night (while the girls are safely inside and sound asleep).
    It’s been hectic here so I’m catching up on blogs today. I’ll sum up my response here. Good to hear Sissy is hanging in there and I hope Miss Gretchen is being a good sister.

  15. Walden says:

    Poor Sissy! Sorry you had some damage, but glad it’s nothing more serious.

  16. Sue says:

    I can send my cleanup crew to help with your yard. They make quick work of the mess.

  17. Linda Martin says:

    Hi Chan… I’m on my 3rd Subaru, this time a Forester. It’s not as ‘snazzy’ as the Outback, but it might be a little cheaper. LOVE. IT. A big factor in my decision was its safety rating, since my daughter would ultimately be driving it. It has plenty of cargo room, plus several options for cargo carriers up top (I have a basket-type carrier with a bungie net). Subarus last a LONG time, too. Drove my first one 11 years!
    A good friend has a new Honda CRV and loves it, too.
    Looking forward to seeing how you decide!

  18. Krystle says:

    I think station wagons are great. In fact, I was thinking that I wanted a hatchback or a station wagon myself before I ended up with my lexus sedan that I drove here with. Suburu is a good brand for them too, I feel like they know what they are doing. I know someone who has a VW wagon, and she love love loves it. Anyway, someday you will find a car that you love and you will be happy to drive it off the lot! For now, good luck searching 🙂

Leave a comment