Life Goes On

(One of these days, I’m going to learn how to just have the song I’m hearing while I compose the post play while you read it.  In the meantime, flashback to my high school days and let John Cougar’s ditty drone on…)

Butterflies are good for a post about transitions, right?

It’s perfect, because while Gypsyknits’ DD (dear daughter) is not 16, she’s now in the last year of her teens, and I hope she’ll hold on to this last teen year as long as she can, because she’s already well on her way to being a remarkable woman. 

It’s also spot-on for Jessi, who waves buh-bye to her twenties today.  Babe, you don’t look thirty, and trust me, there are plenty of us who can barely see the big 3-0 in the rearview mirror.   Have Dr. Tooth squeeze you hard and have DL do something just to make you laugh on my behalf.  And if you keep bemoaning turning 30, I’ll have the Karate Kid knock some sense into you!  (kidding, kidding… maybe?)  Personally, I’m hoping 30 will be a great year for you if for no other reason than we’ll finally figure out how to meet in person!

Mugsy, missing Fred 10-07

It’s also a little sad around here.  There have been a couple of deaths in our community that have changed the landscape, so to speak. 

How was your weekend?  Ours was okay.  Great dunner with friends Saturday night was the highlight.  Well, that and a package that was waiting on me when I got home Friday evening, but I’ll tell you more about that another day!

17 comments on “Life Goes On

  1. gMarie says:

    Happy Happy to BubblesKnits! Hope you are doing okay – you sound a bit meh. g

  2. Sue says:

    I agree with G. Are you feeling a little down today?

  3. anniebananie says:

    My deepest sympathies on the losses that you have suffered lately. I do hope that it gets better from here on out.

    This weekend was pretty busy, as you well know. I’m trying to blog about it now…

  4. km says:

    I think births and birthdays help me with the losses. It’s part of that circle of life that I don’t always like…but hope in heaven’s reunions give me comfort. May your tears turn to smiles…

    This weekend…impromptu dinner with friends and swimming in their pool. Starting to cook for my Gramp’s freezer. FINALLY pulling out my green cardi and blocking the pieced so I could seam the sides.

  5. Marjie says:

    I always enjoy pictures of your butterfly bush. Maybe I’ll have my boys plant me one!

  6. Heh…showing my age here…when you said song, and Life Goes On….I heard “Obla-di, obla-da, Life goes on, bra, la la how the Life Goes On” by the Beatles!

  7. grace says:

    we always seem to have to deal with the bitter as well as the sweet, but cliche as it may be that is life.

    our weekend was tense, tom was mentally in a bad place and resented having to take care of me although he did do it, I tried on Sunday to be more self sufficient but am really suffering for it today,

    Our entertainment center was also the victim of some freak power surge or lightening strike and blew out our Surround System, DVD, VCR CD players and cable box and has damaged the television too but its still working (damn I was hoping for a new one) The cable man at least replaced their box and hooked it up but the rest will have to be replaced over time.

    Off to finish the Bedjacket sweater!!! Sending hugs

  8. Natalie says:

    Agree with km….births and birthdays do help. Sometimes it’s hard to focus on those though.

    Hope you get some smiles soon.

    Had a great weekend. Battling a calf cramp but registered for the baby and got some knitting and spinning too.

  9. Nichole says:

    tsk, tsk… complaining about 30? hmprf. Wait til she hits 35. (I know…..) lol

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    lol Thanks for the b’day wishes. 😀

    Sorry to hear about the deaths on your end. Many hugs to you.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I’m sorry things are sad.

  12. Anita says:

    I’d love to see 30 again…. now that 42 is in the picture. LOL
    Hope you are feeling better tonight.

  13. Kathy says:

    So sorry to hear of more loss. Prayers going up.

    Bubblesknits is fussing about turning 30? LOL I won’t even comment on age ;).

    Thanks so much for mentioning DD’s birthday she’ll appreciate the kind words.

  14. Dianne says:

    It sounds as though you could use a hug. Sorry about the losses in the community. Hope things look brighter very soon.

  15. Blond Duck says:

    I hope you feel better today!

  16. AlisonH says:

    Oh, Chan, I’m sorry for your losses!

  17. Kristin says:

    31 was a whole lot easier for me than 30! Tell her 30 is the new 20!

Leave a comment