Look… First…

Whew!  We had a fabulous Thanksgiving get-away.  I don’t have many photos, so I’ll share more about that tomorrow.  In the meantime, I did do some reading while we were at the beach.  I’d packed books to read and had a plan, but I got distracted immediately Thursday morning by the fabulous bookcases my aunt keeps well-stocked in the beach house living room.  I do believe just about every visit introduces me to a new author/book!

This time, it was First Dogs that distracted me.  In fact, for the first time I can recall, I didn’t watch the Macy’s parade or the dog show that follows, because I had my nose in the book and then took my own leading ladies for a long walk on the beach.

I can’t say enough about this book.  In fact…  I might feel another bulk purchase for gifts coming on.  It’s not political at all, and if you have any interest at all in dogs or history, you’ll love it.

After that very delightful distraction, I did turn to my reading list.  Marjie had gifted me Taylor Caldwell’s To Look and Pass earlier this year, but I’ve been on a reading hiatus. 

Shame on me!  Had I known it was such a study of human nature and small town dynamics, I would have jumped in right away.   It is NOT a light, cheerful book.  It is dark, stark and deep.  I found the opening to be a little awkward and slow, but that’s really just the narrator establishing his own voice, and given that I am a stream of consciousness writer, talker, emailer, who am I to judge?! 

The book is out of print, but given Caldwell’s popularity, it shouldn’t be hard to find.  If you count To Kill a MockingbirdOf Mice and Men or The Great Gatsby as a favorite, you need to read this one.  (And yes, those are three of my favorites, to be sure.)

What are you reading?

15 comments on “Look… First…

  1. Nancy says:

    I’ll look for the books. Thanks for the recommendations.

    I have piles of books that I need to read, so I guess I have been on a reading hiatus, too. When did I ever have time to work?

  2. gMarie says:

    First Dogs looks very interesting. I read a fabulous book about a cookie exchange club and their party. All of the women had been in the group for many years and knew each other so well – if only…..

    Glad you had a great time. g

  3. Katherine says:

    What a wonderful way to spend a vacation! I will look for To Look and Pass. I am currently reading James Patterson’s The Christmas Wedding and enjoying it more than I expected, given its ho-hum reviews. I’m in favor of dumping all of our TVs and spending the time reading.

  4. Carol says:

    These look like wonderful books. What a great vacation you must have had at the beach. I can imagine you reading there and taking long walks. Sigh…… It must have been absolutely lovely.

  5. Susan, says:

    Currently reading 11/22/63 by Stephen King. Not far enough to express an opinion. Only about 30 pages in. I have the First Dogs version, but it is an older version. Not sure how far it goes, but definely not as far as Bo Obama.

  6. Marjie says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your book! I rarely find her books at the used book sales these days, but I have a stock of them to which I periodically turn. And I’m sure the girls were forgiving of your reading, since you started out with a book about dogs. Glad you had a nice getaway; the weather was even pretty nice, wasn’t it?

  7. Barbara S. says:

    I will have to look for that book; I certainly enjoyed her “Dear and Glorious Physician” when I read it years ago.

  8. Kathy says:

    I’m also reading 11/22/63 by Stephen King. I have it in book form (as opposed to Kindle) because SK and I go way back, to age 14 (for me, I’m sure he was considerably older) and I need the hardcover to go on the shelf next to all the rest. I really hope to finish it by the time I take my Christmas trip because it’s just too big to take.

    Sounds like you had a great Thanksgiving. The parade and dog show were pretty good, but you found a better way to entertain yourself.

  9. Sue says:

    Those both look like musts to add to my list. We, of course, love a book with a Portie on the cover.

    I finished Water For Elephants. Have you read it? I wasn’t going to until a friend insisted. I’m so glad I did. It isn’t a fun book to read, but it’s one that remains with you long after you’ve finished it.

  10. Hubs is listening to 11/22/63 as I bought him the Audible version. I heard only the first chapter. I’m reading….nothing! How weird is that?! Glad you and Grrls (and the Knight) had a lovely week away.

  11. Kristyn says:

    I have been rereading the Little House books and really enjoying them. Right now I am reading Hidden Star which is the first in a trilogogy by Nora Roberts.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    Glad you had a good time at the beach! 🙂 Lately I’ve been into easy reading romance novels. Nothing racy, just easy on the mind and with a happy ending. I’ve been kind of down, so these are a perfect distraction and little mood lifter.

  13. Jessica says:

    I am heading off to Russia! My bookclub is reading Dr Zhivago, and i have asked the hubs for Anna Karenina and War and Peace for Christmas. I have a thing for Russian history, actually contemplated studying it for grad school.

  14. AlisonH says:

    My daughter just sent me Finn Family Moomintroll for my birthday, and I didn’t know till after I opened it that that’s what the package was for. Is it okay to read it before the official day?

  15. Nichole says:

    The doggy book sure looks like a fun one! I need to get my Nook out and get to reading…

Leave a Reply

